A way of learning English

When I started working in San Francisco last year, one of my colleagues suggested me to join toastmasters. I actually attended one or two of toastmasters in San Francisco a couple of times as a guest. One of them has their meeting in the building of Charles Schwab near financial district. The club looked very professional, business atmosphere and advanced level. I liked the club, but the capacity of people was already full. I put my name on the waiting list. However, I could not join the club.

Today, I participated in one of toastmasters in Tokyo for the first time. It was almost same how the meeting goes on. A toastmaster of this evening control the meeting, someone announce today’s word, some prepared session were presented, there are evaluators and uh/ah counter, and everyone vote for best speaker and best evaluator. Guests have an opportunity to introduce themselves at the beginning of the meeting, and make a comment at the end.

The language in this meeting (is there any better word for this?) is English. About twenty or twenty five people there and five or six of them were non Japanese. I heard the ratio was high comparing to other toastmasters in Tokyo.

I haven’t decided yet to attend next meeting in two weeks. But I am sure this is one of ways to learn and improve my English communication skill even in Tokyo.

Leave a Reply

