Movie: Machête

On Sunday evening, I was supposed to go to a charity party in Akasaka, but changed the plan because I was too tired to join the party. So I went to a theater to see the movie Machete. Brooklyn’s Finest was another option, but I didn’t choose it as it was ran in the old the theater which I couldn’t reserve a seat online.

I walked from my home to the theater in Shinjuku 3-chome for 20 minutes or so. It’s a similar distance as the one I often walked from my apartment in Embarcadero, San Francisco to Metreon or Century near the Union Square. However, the way to the destination is much more lovely in San Francisco.

Machete

7.9/10

If you like Inglorious Basterds or Kill Bill i.e. Tarantino’s taste, I am sure you will enjoy Machete. Actually I did not like Inglorious Basterds for the first time, but I had more fun for the second time I saw. My favorite might be getting changed slightly. So, I definitely enjoyed Machete. Exciting scene continued during whole the movie. And it described the problem about the immigration from Mexico to the U.S. I lived in San Diego for a year, which is located next to Mexico and had a road trip in New Mexico, Texas, and so on. The theme of the immigration isn’t out of my interesting.

I remembered the El Paso in Texas, which is the border city with Mexico, Rio Grande, which is the border river, and the Alamo in San Antonio, Texas. Whenever I think about the Southern U.S, tasty Mexican foods come up with me. I cannot forget authentic Brittos, Tacos and Salsa in such cities close to Mexico. If you like Mexican culture, this movie is probably for you.

I don’t recommend this movie for family since too many people die. 🙂 (It’s actually restricted to the age 18+ due to the sexual contents.)

The picture is from IMDb.

Leave a Reply

