Japanese Movies: Norwegian Wood and Space Battleship Yamato

I saw two Japanese movies last week. Norwegian Wood was not far away from what I expected while Space Battleship Yamato wasn’t good…

Norwegian Wood

My rate: 8.1 out of 10

Probably you already know, the original is the famous novel written by Haruki Murakami. I red it and most of his novels as well. I like his works not only its plot, but his unique expressions.

I thought it was difficult to make Norwegian Wood two hours movie because characters in his novel usually have a lot of quite interesting stories behind them and it seems to take much time that to audience within the limited time.

However, I can say this movie is good enough for Murakami’s fan at least for me. Sure, it was too short to tell the story, but I give this movie relatively high score for its visual and atmosphere through the whole movie.

I recommend you to read the novel before going to theater if you haven’t yet. The pic is from the official website.

Space Battleship Yamato

My rate: 7.5 out of 10

Takuya Kimura starred this movie as the main character Susumu Kodai. I was afraid Takuya had too strong impressions by lots of his play in TV dramas and he played in Yamato almost same as such TV dramas. It was much different from my image of Susumu Kodai in the animation Yamato, which I watched in my childhood.

The last scene reminded me Armageddon or Deep Impact even though the original of Space Battleship Yamato is much older than those Hollywood movies.

You would probably like to see the original one. The theme song is masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

