Movie: The Fighter

It’s been a while since I went to theater last time. Maybe it is not so long, but I feel quite long. When I was in San Francisco, walking about a mile from my apartment in Embarcadero to Metreon or Century near Powell station of BART to see the latest Hollywood movie was every weekend’s delight for me.

It was time for me to go to see a movie without planning in advance on Sunday two week ago. I checked the website Movie Walker, which introduces movie reviews and schedules like Fandango, and decided to see The Fighter. There were 10 nominees for the best picture of Oscar 2011, and I saw four of them, Black Swan, Inception, The King’s Speech, and The Social Network. I wish I could see the rest of nominees, but The Fighter was only choice at that time. I saw the trailer and it was interesting. After buying the ticket online – you should book a ticket before when you go to theater in Japan, it is crowd place here – I walked to the theater in Shinjuku for about 1.3 miles. The street is not like that in San Francisco, so most of the route is sketchy. However, walking is good for health anyways. I can’t complain the view and atmosphere of the city. San Francisco is one of the prettiest and interesting city in the world, where I ever went.

The Fighter

8.0/10

Christian Bale, left in the below picture, won the Oscar in the category of actor in a supporting role. His role was an elder brother of the lead character, and addicted to drugs. His act was great. You will be surprised if you see the difference of his appearance between the below two pictures. And another surprising thing is that the movie is based on real story.

After seeing this movie, I imagined my life if I had a brother. I have two sisters, but no brother. Maybe, we sometimes had a fight and play together. That is a kind of dream which never comes true.

Pictures are from IMDb.

Leave a Reply

