Pitch like Pedro

My uniform number was changed from eight to forty five. We have an opening game of the baseball tournament tomorrow. The change of number is preparation for the tournament.

This uniform and number are, you will be surprised, from my high school team. I have kept these for 18 years since graduated the high school. I did not imagine the time, that I wear this, would come again. Because the tournament is for teams which consist of alumni of same high school, they wear the old uniform or its replication.

High school players traditionally have position number as uniform number in Japan. I was a center fielder, so I had the number eight. For this tournament, we chose numbers the other day and I got forty five inspired by a great pitcher, Pedro Martinez. I hope I could get strike outs as many as possible and shut out as Pedro tomorrow.

The new number.

Leave a Reply

