How do I use multiple social media?

About a month ago, Google launched a new project called Google+. There are already plenty of social media out there such as Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, and Mixi in Japan, but I couldn’t help participating in Google+ because I felt it would probably become popular service.

I use those social media for different purposes with different languages. Mixi is just for personal things with close friends and only in Japanese language. I started Mixi back in 2005, which was next year of Facebook founded, and almost no one knew about Facebook in Japan at that time. I only have several dozen friends in there and it is very closed network.

Facebook is mixed media for me. I use it 50% for private and 50% for business. Originally, Facebook was the media I connect to my classmates and friends when I lived in the U.S. and often uploaded pictures. So, primary language on my Facebook is English. However, my business targets tech people and they usually have Facebook account, so I gradually shifted its usage to business with using “List” functionality. It allows me to post something stupid with “list” so that business friends cannot see it.

 

I have a couple of Twitter accounts and primary one is for business in Japanese. Secondary one is mainly for personal and in English. But you cannot separate things so easily. It is sometimes mixed between business and private.

Google+ is 90% for business. I usually post publicly and synchronize it with Twitter. People think Google+ is a competitive service with Facebook, but I think it can replace Twitter. For me, Google+ is alternative service of Twitter, which can be written with unlimited number of characters. I post on Google+ 50% in English and 50% in Japanese.

I do not know if I continue using these multiple services and different way of using them. Those kind of services could change gradually or suddenly along with users’ demand.

  

2 thoughts on “How do I use multiple social media?

  1. Thanks Sean for sharing your thoughts on recent social media trend. I haven’t touched Google+ yet, which I should! And it is sad to admit, but I am still struggling using each medium in a suitable purpose. I am a heavy user of Facebook, some Mixi and almost no Twitter though my account is still there and people at times follow me. Well, the good news is I love writing blogs and trying to keep two- one in Japanese and the other in English. I really admire those smart social media users.

  2. To be honest, I sometimes feel exhausted from using so many kinds of social media, follow friends’ time line, and have helpless feeling by knowing other people do incredible works. 😉

    However, I do social media. I believe in the power of technology including communication such as social media. Technology will continue to be important part of the world until I die at least. I don’t want to be an old guy who cannot understand nor use technology in 20 years, 30 years, whenever. Forever young.

Leave a Reply

