ACL reconstruction surgery 1

Unfortunately, I got my right knee ACL (and MCL) torn during a baseball game back on March 20. I underwent the ACL reconstruction surgery on June 15, and for it I was hospitalized from June 14 to 25. The hospital Ohkubo is located in Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku, which is quite interesting place, famous for night life and as “sleepless town.”

I had already taken some tests like blood test for the surgery in the previous week, the first day of the hospital was very relaxed one. Removing leg hair was the most important thing on the day.

The surgery itself didn’t hurt at all because it was performed under general anesthesia. However, some tubes stuck into near backbone, penis, knee really hurt… It started at 1:30PM and I was pulled back to consciousness around 5PM.

This photo was taken in the night of the day.

I don’t exaggerate, but the first night was hell. Due to pains by those tubes and awful backache I couldn’t sleep at all. I have never had such long, endless night before… An old guy sleeping at next bed underwent a surgery on the same day and groaned through the night as well as I did. The room was just like field hospital in war.

I remember I was really relieved to see a lightening of the sky through the window.

Rehabilitation started from the next day of the surgery in order to avoid the knee becoming tight. A machine automatically bend and stretch my knee and this was another hell…

Continue to next post

Leave a Reply

