Thailand Day 1 – Bangkok

My flight ticket to Bangkok was China Airlines, which cost only 630 US dollars although it was one of the busiest week. I flew on December 27 and came back on January 2 in new year. The ticket was the cheapest on Kayak.com and included one stop at Taipei on the way.

I arrived at Bangkok International airport, which is by the way also domestic airport, around 5 pm. Because this was the first time for me to visit to Thailand, I wasn’t sure what was the best way to get to the city. I chose train Airport Rail Link and it was very comfortable and fast enough.

The first stay was a budget guesthouse very near Hua Lamphong station. I booked it because I was going to take train early next morning. My room was located on the 5th or 6th floor, but there was no elevators. This was a view from my room.

479701_10200267551158480_434456250_n
View from the room faced to the big street

 

Once I settled, I went to the station to see if I could get the train ticket for the next day and the ticket to Nam Tok I scheduled in the latter of this trip.

734067_10200267545038327_2077788982_n
Concourse of Hua Lamphong station. Monks were impressive.

Then I headed to Chinatown to get a quick dinner. At this time, I was still scared by the city atmosphere where I couldn’t understand anything because of Thai language.

Yaowarat Road in Chinatown was similar as Strip in Las Vegas somehow. It wasn’t so huge as LV, but very alive.

385269_10200267543118279_1269565153_n
Yaowarat Road

 

Thanks to a can of Thai beer and being tired by trip, I slept well the first night.

Leave a Reply

