Thailand Day 3 – Travel to Sukhothai

The third day in Thailand, December 29th, was mainly for moving from Ayutthaya to next destination Sukhothai. The reason I wanted to go to Sukhothai although it is not close to Ayutthaya or Bangkok was it is another World Heritage. Please see “Historic Town of Sukhothai and Associated Historic Towns” in UNESCO’s website for the details.

It is located 400km away from Ayutthaya. I was wondering if I would take train again or bus. And I chose bus because I got to know train would not run on schedule at all from my experience of the previous day.

In the morning, I took a tuk-tuk to get to a bus station. Unfortunately, long distance buses to Sukhothai were fully booked because it was a busy season. So, I had to take a minivan instead.

Minivan accommodates 11 guests
Minivan accommodates 11 guests

I sit the end of the car. There were two women from Berin next to me and two Japanese guys in my front seats. Japanese guys thought I was a Chinese until I talked to them in Japanese because I chatted with Germans in English.

Screen Shot 2013-01-20 at 11.06.18 PM
From Ayutthaya to Sukhothai

It took about six hours to reach Sukhothai via Phitsanulok. The guest house, which I booked through HostelWorld.com in advance, was really nice as I read in reviews.  At Home Sukhothai has pretty wooden made house and great atmosphere. They even have big garden.

At Home Sukhothai cost only 450 bahts or $15

I didn’t have enough time to go to the old city, Sukhothai historic town, so walked around the new city for a few hours.

Market
Market
Early dinner was street stand
Early dinner was street stand

I took early dinner and strolled in the town again. It was hot outside like 30 to 35 degrees, but I definitely prefer hot to cold.

 

Many dogs and monks in the town
Many dogs and monks on the street

 

The second dinner was street food again
The second dinner was street food again

Continue to the fourth day in Sukhothai.

 

Leave a Reply

